This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you agree to our use of cookies. To find out more, see our Privacy and Cookies policy.
Skip to the content

Share this

Free weekly newswire

Sign up to receive all our latest news direct to your inbox.

Physics on film

100 Second Science Your scientific questions answered simply by specialists in less than 100 seconds.

Watch now

Bright Recruits

At all stages of your career – whether you're an undergraduate, graduate, researcher or industry professional – can help find the job for you.

Find your perfect job

Physics connect

Are you looking for a supplier? Physics Connect lists thousands of scientific companies, businesses, non-profit organizations, institutions and experts worldwide.

Start your search today


Knighthoods for graphene and biophysics pioneers

By Hamish Johnston

Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov of the University of Manchester have received knighthoods in the 2012 New Year Honours. The pair bagged the 2010 Nobel Prize for Physics for their pioneering work on graphene – sheets of carbon just one atom thick. Both physicists were knighted for their “services to science”.

James Dacey visited the Manchester lab where graphene was first isolated and shot a video about how to make the material. The short film was one of our favourites of 2011 and you can watch it here.

Also receiving a knighthood is Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, a biophysicist at the University of Cambridge who shared the 2010 Nobel Prize for Chemistry for his work on the structure and function of ribosome.

Other physicists honoured include Jonathan Flint, chief executive of UK-based Oxford Instruments, and Philip Sutton, who has held a number of senior positions at the UK’s Ministry of Defence, including director of science and technology strategy. Both Flint and Sutton become Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE). In 2007 Flint talked to me about how Oxford Instruments is making physics profitable, and you can read that interview here.

The honour of Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) has been bestowed on James McLaughlin of the University of Ulster and on Mohamed El-Gomati of the University of York. Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) honours go to John Huddleston of AEA Technology, Derek Raine of the University of Leicester and Ian Miller of the University of Lancaster.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.
View all posts by this author  | View this author's profile

Comments are closed.


  • Comments should be relevant to the article and not be used to promote your own work, products or services.
  • Please keep your comments brief (we recommend a maximum of 250 words).
  • We reserve the right to remove excessively long, inappropriate or offensive entries.

Show/hide formatting guidelines

Tag Description Example Output
<a> Hyperlink <a href="">google</a> google
<abbr> Abbreviation <abbr title="World Health Organisation" >WHO</abbr> WHO
<acronym> Acronym <acronym title="as soon as possible">ASAP</acronym> ASAP
<b> Bold <b>Some text</b> Some text
<blockquote> Quoted from another source <blockquote cite="">IOP</blockquote>
<cite> Cite <cite>Diagram 1</cite> Diagram 1
<del> Deleted text From this line<del datetime="2012-12-17"> this text was deleted</del> From this line this text was deleted
<em> Emphasized text In this line<em> this text was emphasised</em> In this line this text was emphasised
<i> Italic <i>Some text</i> Some text
<q> Quotation WWF goal is to build a future <q cite="">
where people live in harmony with nature and animals</q>
WWF goal is to build a future
where people live in harmony with nature and animals
<strike> Strike text <strike>Some text</strike> Some text
<strong> Stronger emphasis of text <strong>Some text</strong> Some text